Did you know you can merge Facebook Pages and not lose fans or likes?
It’s true, and pretty easy.
Overview from the Facebook folks:
Facebook does a good job walking through the process here. Note, you can only merge the Page with fewer likes into the one with more likes.
- Go to the Page or Place with the most likes. This will be the one you’ll keep.
- Click the Edit Page button in the top right corner.
- From the left sidebar, select Resources.
- Click the Merge duplicate Pages link. This link will only appear if you admin two Pages with similar names.
- A dialogue will show Pages and Places you admin that qualify to be merged. Select the Page(s) you wish to merge. If you’re merging a Place and a Page, they must have the same address information.
For Pages with the new timeline design, which is all of them after March 30, 2012, replace step 2 with the following instructions, then continue with steps 3-5 above:
- Open your Page’s admin panel
- Click Manage
- Select Edit Page
Are there “rogue” Pages you’re not the owner or admin of?
Facebook even thought of a great way to help you take over and merge the users from inauthentic or “rogue” Pages to an authorized Page that you admin.
Keep in mind…
Make sure you’ve gotten everything off of the Pages you’re merging from – photos, videos, posts, etc. The only thing that will be saved from these will be your fans. They’ll merge and combine with the fans of your “keeper” Page. Everything else will disappear and you won’t be able to get it back.
If you’re still scared, test the process first by creating a few bogus Pages and testing the merge feature before doing on the real Pages.
What do you think?